Most creators and followers engage asynchronously.
To tackle this, Instagram launched Live Video in late 2016.
Live video on Instagram helps creators and brands to connect with friends and followers synchronously.
But…
Now, Instagram has rolled out live scheduling. That means you can schedule your Instagram Lives.
With this awesome new feature, creators and brands now have the option to schedule their Instagram lives up to 90 days in advance.
Along with that, Instagram also launched a sub-feature called as “Practice Mode”, which helps you to test your Live Setup in advance.
In this article, we’re diving into how you can schedule your Instagram Lives, how to use “Practice Mode”, and how these tools can help you nail Instagram Lives.
Going Live hits different when your followers come through ????
Live Scheduling lets you schedule your stream up to 90 days in advance and followers can set reminders to tune in ❤️???? pic.twitter.com/8t7BWmjEL7
— Instagram (@instagram) October 13, 2021
How does Instagram Live scheduling work?
A natural question about this feature that pops up: how will this help us?
Here’s how:
- Think of it as scheduling a meeting in your calendar. Now, instead of meeting with people in private, you can meet with people publicly.
- If you’re meeting someone who keeps busy, you need to remind them about your meeting. Apply the same to Instagram Lives. You can remind your followers about your Live as much as you like. And, build some hype around the event so you can get expect better participation.
According to Instagram, Live Scheduling will help with better discovery and widespread distribution.
When you schedule a Live, you can share reminders and countdowns to your Instagram stories and feed.
Sharing your Live on your feed and stories will allow your followers to sign up for reminders and notifications so they are alerted when you go Live.
Instagram has also introduced a “Live in Profiles” section on your profile that lets your followers or your visitors know that you have a scheduled Live.
When someone clicks the badge, a pop-up window allows them to click “Remind Me” to get alerted when you go live.

